SAF Logo 23 1

About US

History

The Schweizerische American Football Verband (SAFV) is the umbrella organization for tackle and flag football in Switzerland. It is a member of the Swiss Olympic Association and the International Federation of American Football (IFAF). 

The SAFV was founded on December 26, 1982 as the Swiss Football League in Lugano. The first president, Massimo Monti, was a former player of a Milan team and at the same time founder of the now defunct Lugano Seagulls. At first, the Seagulls played only against Italian teams. But with the creation of other clubs in Switzerland, the first Swiss championship with eight teams took place in 1986. A year later, the association was renamed the Schweizerische American Football Verband. 1987 was also the first year that Swiss clubs participated in European competitions. Two years later, in 1989, the SAFV was accepted as a member by the Swiss Olympic Association.

In 2003, SAFV became a member of EFAF, the former European American Football Federation, and IFAF (the world governing body).

In 2012, the Calanda Broncos were the first Swiss team to win the biggest European American football competition (at that time the EFL). Due to the dissolution of the EFAF in 2014, the SAFV joined the new European American Football Federation, the IFAF, for the 2015 season.

Today the SAFV has approximately 2’500 licensed players, coaches, referees and team personnel and supports a variety of categories; tackle, flag and youth.

7 WhatsApp Image 2024 01 12 at 09
President

Claudio Spescha

president@safv.ch

1 WhatsApp Image 2024 01 12 at 09
Vice-president

Andres Trautmann

vicepresident@safv.ch

8 WhatsApp Image 2024 01 12 at 09
Head OF Finance

Chris Rummel

finance@safv.ch

3 WhatsApp Image 2024 01 12 at 09
Head of Flag Football

Jessica Klostermeier

flagfootball@safv.ch

4 WhatsApp Image 2024 01 12 at 09
Head of Tackle Football

Michel Strähl

football@safv.ch

2 WhatsApp Image 2024 01 12 at 09
Head of Marketing & Communication

Gleb Iatsenia

marketing@safv.ch presse@safv.ch

5 WhatsApp Image 2024 01 12 at 09

Dominic Baumgartner

legal@safv.ch

Board

The strategic management of the SAFV is the responsibility of the Board, which is elected annually by the assembly of delegates from our members. The Board is under the direction of the president Claudio Spescha and is comprised of a total of six members. The legal department of the SAFV is attached to the board as a staff unit.

Office

The office was introduced in 2021.

It is responsible for the operational management of the SAFV.

Cedric Arnold SAF cut
head of Player Development Flag

Cedric Arnold

cedric.arnold@safv.ch

katja
Association Secretary

Katja Gafner

info@safv.ch

Head of Player Development Tackle

Chris Rummel

chris.rummel@safv.ch

sophia haller cropped 1

Head of Football Operations – Flag

Sophia Haller

sophia.haller@safv.ch

thomas sany 1

Head of Football Operations – Tackle

Thomas Sany

thomas.sany@safv.ch

Sascha Gaveau
Head of Youth & Competitive Sports

Sascha Gaveau

sascha.gaveau@safv.ch

Raymond Fouillet 1
Head of Referees

Raymond Fouillet

raymond.fouillet@safv.ch

Dataprotection-officer

vakant

dataprotection@safv.ch

Doping-Officer

Raymond Fouillet

doping@safv.ch

Ethics-officer

Christoph Dürst

ethics@safv.ch

Womens-Officer

Saphira Iroegbu-Ceccel

women@safv.ch

Romandie-Officer

Romain Béda

Medical-Officer

Christian Warzecha

medical@safv.ch

Officers

MEmbers

Contact

Schweizerischer American
Football Verband (SAFV)
CH-8000 Zurich

info@safv.ch

UBS AG Zürich
Account-No.: 285-107171.40M
BC Number: 0028
IBAN-No.: CH78 0028 5285 1071 7140 M
BIC: UBSWCHZH80A

Italy vs Switzerland by Marcel Kaul kaulphotographs 010

Contact Form